Is It Time to Do Some Necessary LinkedIn Network Pruning?

network pruningYour LinkedIn network is one of your most valuable business assets. Therefore, you should add people to your network very strategically. But people change and circumstances change, and occasionally you may find it necessary to do some network pruning.

Why Should You Prune Your Network?

This list is certainly not exhaustive, but here are a few situations that might prompt you to do some network pruning:

  • Someone is filling your Inbox with spam on a consistent basis
  • Without your permission, somebody is dropping your name in voicemails all over town in an effort to get the appointments he’s been trying to land for years with your friends
  • One of your connections has become a direct competitor
  • You can’t keep up with the inordinate amount of LinkedIn introductions someone is asking you to make
  • The day after you connect with someone, she sends you a lengthy canned solicitation message that has no relevance to you and your business

I’m sure you get the picture. But don’t lose sight of the fact that each and every first-level connection is actually helping you in the search ranking algorithm on LinkedIn. So think twice before you disconnect. For instance, the fact that you’ve never met a particular person in your network may not be reason enough to disconnect.

Three-Step Network Pruning

There are several ways to disconnect with someone on LinkedIn. But one is preferable because the person won’t be able to see that you looked at his/her profile before disconnecting. And don’t worry—people do not receive a note from LinkedIn saying you dropped them.

  1. Click the My Network tab on the top toolbar, and then choose Connections in the left-hand column under Manage my network.
  2. Type the person’s name in the Search by name box.
  3. Once the person’s name shows up, click the three dots to the right of his/her name and select Remove connection.

After You Prune

After you disconnect, any recommendations or endorsements between you and that person will be eliminated. The person will not be able to re-invite you. So you might want to save the person’s email address. With that, you can re-invite him/her anytime in the future.

And don’t feel guilty if you choose to disconnect. After all, it’s your professional network… and you should be comfortable with who’s in that network.

.

For this post, YouTern thanks our friends at Power Formula!

.

power formula logo

.

Wayne Breitbarth AuthorAbout the Author: Wayne Breitbarth is the CEO of Power Formula LLC. An experienced businessman, speaker, and author, Wayne shares his passion for social media with 40,000+ business professionals. Through private business consulting and presentations to audiences including Inc. Magazine and also the American Marketing Association, Wayne makes LinkedIn simple. Wayne is the author of the best-selling book The Power Formula for LinkedIn Success. Connect with him on Twitter.

.

.

.

This entry was posted in LinkedIn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.